Low Price Guarantee
We Take School POs
All of our bargain books are brand new, perfectly readable and represent a tremendous value! The bargain books are, however, publisher overstocks and remainders that TRW purchases at deep discounts. As a result, they may have a small mark through the UPC bar code or a small mark on the side of the book. This is simply to mark the books so they cannot be sent back to a publisher. Because of this, bargain books are non returnable to TRW unless they are damaged. Please consider this before ordering.
PLEASE NOTE:
Bargain Books are not eligible for Library Processing
The False Prince
ISBN: 9780545284134
Author: Nielsen, Jennifer A.
Publisher: Scholastic Pr
Published: April 2012
Retail: $17.99    OUR PRICE: $2.99
     You Save 83%
Binding Type: Hardcover
Qty:
Annotation: A first entry in a new trilogy by the author of Elliot and the Goblin War finds court nobleman Conner endeavoring to unify a kingdom on the brink of civil war by finding an impersonator of the king's long-lost son, a role desperately played by a defiant youth who faces life-threatening dangers.
Additional Information
BISAC Categories:
- Juvenile Fiction | Fantasy & Magic
- Juvenile Fiction | Action & Adventure - General
- Juvenile Fiction | Family - Orphans & Foster Homes
Dewey: FIC
LCCN: 2011006692
Lexile Measure: 710
Series: Ascendance Trilogy
Target Grade: 7-9
Grade level: 7-9
Physical Information: 1.25" H x 125.00" L x 5.75" W
Bargain Category: Action & Adventure, Fantasy, Middle School, Social Issues, Upper Elementary
Grade level(s): 5th, 6th, 7th, 8th
 
Descriptions, Reviews, Etc.
Reviewed by Horn Book Guide Reviews (Horn Book Guide Reviews 2012 Fall)
The royal family of Carthya has been poisoned, and among the various regents jockeying for the throne, Conner has the most ingeniously devious plan: to train four orphans, briefly and intensely, in all things royal, then choose one to impersonate the long-lost, presumed dead younger prince. The book's brisk pacing underscores the sure-fire mix of adventure, mystery, and suspense.
Reviewed by Horn Book Magazine Reviews (Horn Book Magazine Reviews 2012 #2)
The royal family has been poisoned, and now the kingdom of Carthya, surrounded by enemy nations, is poised on the brink of civil war. Among the various regents jockeying for the throne, Conner has the most ingeniously devious plan: to recruit four orphans, train them briefly and intensely in all things royal, and then choose one (while disposing of the others) to impersonate the long-lost, but presumed dead, younger prince. But Sage, the narrator of this tale, is not so easy for Conner to bend to his will. He is stubborn, rebellious, impetuous, and unpredictable. And yet as the story wends its way through the requisite twists and turns of the plot, he becomes the obvious and inevitable choice. However, Sage, too, has some tricks up his sleeve, and as the time draws near for the coronation of a new king, he reluctantly embraces both his past and future identities to forge a new destiny for himself and his kingdom. Sage is crafty and deceptive, recalling a young Gen from The Thief (rev. 11/96), and if the competition to become the new prince is fierce, it is not excessively violent. This book should appeal to fans of Megan Whalen Turner and Suzanne Collins as well as to readers not quite ready for those authors yet; its brisk pacing underscores the sure-fire mix of adventure, mystery, and suspense. jonathan hunt Copyright 2012 Horn Book Magazine Reviews.
Reviewed by Publishers Weekly Reviews (PW Reviews 2012 February #2)

This highly enjoyable medieval fantasy from Nielsen (the Underworld Chronicles), set in the medieval kingdom of Carthya, centers on 15-year-old Sage, an angry and pugnacious orphan, who is unexpectedly purchased by Conner, one of the king's regents. The entire royal family—king, queen, and heir—has recently died under mysterious circumstances, and to prevent civil war, Conner is collecting orphans who might believably be substituted for the dead king's younger son, who was reported lost at sea years earlier. Sage is soon engaged in a deadly, winner-take-all contest with two other boys to earn the right to impersonate Prince Jaron. Sage is deftly characterized through humorous first-person narration, quickly establishing himself as a beguiling antihero: "I'd never attempted roast thievery before, and I was already regretting it," he says when readers first meet him. "It happens to be very difficult to hold a chunk of raw meat while running." Secondary characters are equally fleshed-out. First in the Ascendancy Trilogy, this is an impressive, promising story with some expertly executed twists. Ages 8–14. Agent: Ammi-Joan Paquette, Erin Murphy Literary Agency. (Apr.)

[Page ]. Copyright 2012 PWxyz LLC
Reviewed by School Library Journal Reviews (SLJ Reviews 2012 April)

Gr 5–8—No one knows that the king, queen, and heir to the throne of Carthya are dead. Conner, a king's regent, chooses three orphans to vie for the role of Prince Jaron, the remaining heir, presumed dead, but whose body has never been found. In two weeks, Conner plans to reveal that he has found the missing prince. The boys are thrown into a brutal rivalry, knowing that if they are not chosen, death will soon follow. No one's true intentions are clear, especially those of wily Sage. One of the orphans, he subverts authority at every opportunity, yet never gives up his quest to become the pretender to the throne. On the day of the announcement, a truth is revealed that changes everything for Conner, the orphans, and especially Sage. Fast-paced and exciting, this book will appeal to readers who enjoy intrigue mixed in with their adventure. Although the twist at the end is predictable, the events that precede it are not. The characters' motivations may not always be clear but they remain consistent. Full of machinations and surprises, this book will keep students reading until the last page and eager for the second in the trilogy.—Kefira Phillipe, Nichols Middle School, Evanston, IL

[Page 172]. (c) Copyright 2012. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.