Low Price Guarantee
We Take School POs
Beastly Bones Reprint Edition
Contributor(s): Ritter, William

View larger image

ISBN: 1616206365     ISBN-13: 9781616206369
Publisher: Algonquin Books
Retail: $9.95OUR PRICE: $7.26  
  Buy 25 or more:OUR PRICE: $6.67   Save More!
  Buy 100 or more:OUR PRICE: $6.37   Save More!


  WE WILL NOT BE UNDERSOLD!   Click here for our guarantee

Binding Type: Paperback - See All Available Formats & Editions
Published: August 2016
Qty:

Annotation:
In this highly anticipated sequel, Abigail and Sherlockian detective of the supernatural Jackaby follow a trail of mysterious murders from New Fiddleham to nearby Gad's Valley. There they are reunited with exiled police detective Charlie Cane, and the three race to find the culprit before more lives are lost.


Click for more in this series: Jackaby
Additional Information
Library of Congress Subjects:
Mystery and detective stories.
Supernatural; Fiction.
Monsters; Fiction.
Dewey: [Fic]
LCCN: bl2016032598
Academic/Grade Level: Grade 7-9, Age 12-14
Series: Jackaby
Book type: Juvenile Fiction
Physical Information: 8.50" H x 5.50" W x 1.00" (0.70 lbs) 309 pages
Accelerated Reader Info
Quiz #: 176177
Reading Level: 5.8   Interest Level: Upper Grades   Point Value: 10.0
Scholastic Reading Counts Info
Quiz #: Q66863
Reading Level: 5.5   Interest Level: Grades 6-8   Point Value: 16.0
 
Descriptions, Reviews, Etc.

Reviewed by Horn Book Guide Reviews (Horn Book Guide Reviews 2016 Spring)
Spring 1892 in New England finds British transplant Abigail Rook (Jackaby) still acting as assistant to paranormal detective R. F. Jackaby. They investigate a murder, the body bearing a single puncture wound. Could the killer be a vampire? Too obvious a hypothesis, thinks Jackaby. Jackaby's droll humor shines once again, and the storytelling is just as solid and absorbing, with a bit of romance.

Reviewed by Horn Book Magazine Reviews (Horn Book Magazine Reviews 2015 #6)
Spring 1892 in New England's bustling (fictional) town of New Fiddleham finds British transplant Abigail Rook still acting as assistant to paranormal detective R. F. Jackaby (Jackaby, rev. 11/14). It's a job that requires "a somewhat flexible relationship with reality." Case in point: a client's cat has turned into a mackerel, and she's now mama to a litter of kitten-fish hybrids. The investigation soon takes a darker turn when the pet owner is found murdered, her body bearing a single puncture wound. Could the killer be a vampire? Much too obvious a hypothesis, thinks Jackaby; he's "not ruling out the Russian strigoi or Chinese jiang-shi. This is a country of immigrants, after all." Jackaby's sense of humor, ever droll and capricious, shines once again in this sequel. The storytelling is just as solid and absorbing, too, even with quite the crowd—shape-shifters, rival paleontologists, an avid hunter, a livestock-pillaging predator, an intrepid journalist—and there's a bit of romance as well. It all keeps Jackaby and Abigail busy. Very busy. And deliberately so, it seems—making for a tantalizing setup for book three. tanya d. auge Copyright 2014 Horn Book Magazine.

Reviewed by School Library Journal Reviews (SLJ Reviews 2015 August)

Gr 7 Up—R.F. Jackaby and his trusty assistant, Abigail Rook, investigate fascinatng and mysterous forms of paranormal phenomena in the latest series offering. In this sequel to Jackaby (Algonquin, 2014), Ritter seamlessly presents enough backstory for newcomers to thoroughly enjoy this hybrid of historical fiction and fantasy. Jackaby and Rook are called to probe into a series of strange murders—could it be vampires or jiangshi (zombies in Chinese folklore)? After following a lead to the picturesque Gad's Valley, they literally unearth one of the most exciting and dangerous animals of all time. The protagonist's flighty perspicacity pairs well with Rook's down-to-earth demeanor, and together the pair work to overcome a threat to the entire world. On a scale of "one to pomegranate," this volume is undoubtedly a pomegranate; it offers humor, adventure, mystery, gore, and romance all rolled into one well-written package. The best news? There is more to come, as Ritter sets up Jackaby and Rook's next case regarding the ephemeral Jenny, murdered many years ago. VERDICT Recommended for fans of Jonathan Stroud's "Lockwood & Company" series (Disney-Hyperion).—Amanda C. Buschmann, Atascocita Middle School, Humble, TX

[Page 88]. (c) Copyright 2015 Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Reviewed by School Library Journal Reviews (SLJ Reviews 2015 July)

Gr 7 Up—R.F. Jackaby and his trusty assistant, Abigail Rook, investigate fascinatng and mysterous forms of paranormal phenomena in the latest series offering. In this sequel to Jackaby (Algonquin, 2014), Ritter seamlessly presents enough backstory for newcomers to thoroughly enjoy this hybrid of historical fiction and fantasy. Jackaby and Rook are called to probe into a series of strange murders—could it be vampires or jiangshi (zombies in Chinese folklore)? After following a lead to the picturesque Gad's Valley, they literally unearth one of the most exciting and dangerous animals of all time. The protagonist's flighty perspicacity pairs well with Rook's down-to-earth demeanor, and together the pair work to overcome a threat to the entire world. On a scale of "one to pomegranate," this volume is undoubtedly a pomegranate; it offers humor, adventure, mystery, gore, and romance all rolled into one well-written package. The best news? There is more to come, as Ritter sets up Jackaby and Rook's next case regarding the ephemeral Jenny, murdered many years ago. VERDICT Recommended for fans of Jonathan Stroud's "Lockwood & Company" series (Disney-Hyperion).—Amanda C. Buschmann, Atascocita Middle School, Humble, TX

[Page 88]. (c) Copyright 2015 Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.
 
Customers who bought this item also bought...

Jackaby - Reprint Edition
Ghostly Echoes
Also Known As
Beautiful Creatures
Love, Stargirl
Blood Red Road
All You Are
I Am Number Four
 
Customer ReviewsSubmit your own review
 
To tell a friend about this book, you must Sign In First!