Low Price Guarantee
We Take School POs
A Dog With Nice Ears: Featuring Charlie and Lola
Contributor(s): Child, Lauren

View larger image

ISBN: 1536200360     ISBN-13: 9781536200362
Publisher: Candlewick Pr
Retail: $17.99OUR PRICE: $13.13  
  Buy 25 or more:OUR PRICE: $12.05   Save More!
  Buy 100 or more:OUR PRICE: $11.51   Save More!


  WE WILL NOT BE UNDERSOLD!   Click here for our guarantee

Binding Type: School And Library
Published: April 2018
Qty:

Annotation: Beloved siblings Charlie and Lola are back — on a quest to find Lola’s version of the perfect dog, which seems suspiciously un-doglike.

At the moment, all Lola can talk about is dogs. She says she would like one more than anything you could think of. “More than a squirrel or an actual fox,” she says. Sometimes she pretends to be a dog. And sometimes she pretends that her brother, Charlie, is a dog. The two of them love to talk about what sort of dog they would choose if Mom and Dad didn’t always say, “ABSOLUTELY NO DOGS!” Dad says he’ll take Lola to the pet store to choose a rabbit, but Lola insists that she only wants a dog, an extremely furry dog with a wiggly nose, a puffy tail, and nice ears. . . . Fans old and new will cotton to this humorous Charlie and Lola adventure sure to please any child who ever longed for the ideal pet.

Click for more in this series: Charlie and Lola
Additional Information
Library of Congress Subjects:
Dogs; Fiction.
Brothers and sisters; Fiction.
Pets; Fiction.
BISAC Categories:
- Juvenile Fiction | Animals | Pets
- Juvenile Fiction | Humorous Stories
- Juvenile Fiction | Animals | Dogs
Dewey: [E]
LCCN: bl2018052591
Academic/Grade Level: Kindergarten, Ages 5-6
Series: Charlie and Lola
Book type: Easy Fiction
Physical Information: 11.25" H x 10.00" W x 0.50" (1.20 lbs)
 
Descriptions, Reviews, Etc.

Contributor Bio(s): Lauren Child is the creator of many best-selling and award-winning books, including the hugely popular Charlie and Lola and Clarice Bean series and a spin-off series of novels about Ruby Redfort. She is also the author-illustrator of The New Small Person and That Pesky Rat, among other picture books. She is the Children's Laureate in the U.K. and has won numerous awards, including the prestigious Kate Greenaway Medal. Lauren Child lives in London.

Reviewed by Horn Book Guide Reviews (Horn Book Guide Reviews 2018 Fall)
After Dad promises to take Lola to the pet shop for a rabbit (she's not allowed to get a dog), she reassures her older brother Charlie, "Don't worry, I WILL choose a dog." Fans of Charlie and Lola will relish the siblings' characteristic banter (and the resulting pet), while the hot-pink outline of Lola's fantasy dog is an inspired touch in Child's signature mixed-media art. Copyright 2018 Horn Book Guide Reviews.

Reviewed by School Library Journal Reviews (SLJ Reviews 2018 March)

PreS-Gr 2—In Child's latest "Charlie and Lola" adventure, Lola is determined to get a dog even though her parents have said no. Lola will not be dissuaded. Together with Charlie and their friend Marv, she determines that her ideal pup will have nice ears (for holding glasses on), a puffy tail, a wiggly nose (but absolutely no fleas), and perhaps be good at hopping. Readers may not be surprised by the pet that she ends up with, but they'll be certain it is the perfect kind of "dog" for Lola. The mixed media illustrations feature Child's signature style of rich bright patterns and line-drawn characters and incorporate whimsical and imaginary elements throughout. The sibling conversation is authentic and entertaining with such excellent exchanges as Lola's first demand that their dog must have a very waggy tail that is "FIVE rulers long." When Charlie insists that five rulers is absolutely too long a tail for any dog to have, Lola happily amends her wish to a puffy tail, perfect for an extremely furryish dog. VERDICT A pleasing selection for storytime or one-on-one enjoyment. Recommended for most collections.—Laken Hottle, Providence Community Library

Copyright 2018 School Library Journal.
 
Customer ReviewsSubmit your own review
 
To tell a friend about this book, you must Sign In First!