Low Price Guarantee
We Take School POs
Out of My Mind Reprint Edition
Contributor(s): Draper, Sharon M. (Author)

View larger image

ISBN: 1416971718     ISBN-13: 9781416971719
Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Retail: $9.99OUR PRICE: $7.29  
  Buy 25 or more:OUR PRICE: $6.69   Save More!
  Buy 100 or more:OUR PRICE: $6.39   Save More!


  WE WILL NOT BE UNDERSOLD!   Click here for our guarantee

Binding Type: Paperback - See All Available Formats & Editions
Published: May 2012
Qty:
Additional Information
BISAC Categories:
- Juvenile Fiction | Disabilities & Special Needs
- Juvenile Fiction | Family - General (see Also Headings Under Social Themes)
Dewey: FIC
LCCN: 2009018404
Age Level: 10-13
Grade Level: 5-8
Lexile Measure: 700(Not Available)
Physical Information: 1" H x 5.1" W x 7.6" (0.45 lbs) 295 pages
Themes:
- Topical - Physically Challenged
Features: Ikids, Price on Product, Price on Product - Canadian
Awards: Maud Hart Lovelace Book Award, Second Place, Grades 3-5, 2014
Accelerated Reader Info
Quiz #: 136421
Reading Level: 4.3   Interest Level: Middle Grades   Point Value: 8.0
 
Descriptions, Reviews, Etc.
Publisher Description:
Over 1.5 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller Out of My Mind and discovered the brilliant mind of Melody Brooks.

Out of My Mind spent two years on the New York Times bestseller list

"If there's one book teens and parents (and everyone else) should read this year, Out of My Mind should be it." --The Denver Post
"A gutsy, candid, and compelling story. It speaks volumes." --School Library Journal (starred review)
"Unflinching and realistic." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
"Uplifting...This moving novel will makes activists of us all." --Booklist (starred review)

From award-winning author Sharon Draper comes a story that will forever change how we all look at anyone with a disability, perfect for fans of RJ Palacio's Wonder.

Eleven-year-old Melody is not like most people. She can't walk. She can't talk. She can't write. All because she has cerebral palsy. But she also has a photographic memory; she can remember every detail of everything she has ever experienced. She's the smartest kid in her whole school, but NO ONE knows it. Most people--her teachers, her doctors, her classmates--dismiss her as mentally challenged because she can't tell them otherwise. But Melody refuses to be defined by her disability. And she's determined to let everyone know it...somehow.


Contributor Bio(s): Draper, Sharon M.: - Sharon M. Draper is a New York Times bestselling author and recipient of the Margaret A. Edwards Award honoring her significant and lasting contribution to writing for teens. She has received the Coretta Scott King Award for both Copper Sun and Forged by Fire, and was most recently awarded the Charlotte Huck Award for Stella by Starlight. Her novel Out of My Mind has won multiple awards and was a New York Times bestseller for over three years. She lives in Cincinnati, Ohio, where she taught high school English for twenty-five years and was named National Teacher of the Year. Visit her at SharonDraper.com.
 
Customers who bought this item also bought...

Wonder - 1 Edition
One Crazy Summer
The Lightning Thief
Fish in a Tree - DGS REP Edition
The One and Only Ivan - Reprint Edition
Rules
A Long Walk to Water
Where the Mountain Meets the Moon
 
Customer ReviewsSubmit your own review
 
To tell a friend about this book, you must Sign In First!