Low Price Guarantee
We Take School POs
The Mysterious Messenger
Contributor(s): Ford, Gilbert (Author)

View larger image

ISBN: 1250205670     ISBN-13: 9781250205674
Publisher: Henry Holt & Company
Retail: $16.99OUR PRICE: $12.40  
  Buy 25 or more:OUR PRICE: $11.38   Save More!
  Buy 100 or more:OUR PRICE: $10.87   Save More!


  WE WILL NOT BE UNDERSOLD!   Click here for our guarantee

Binding Type: Hardcover
Published: July 2020
This item may be ordered no more than 25 days prior to its street date of July 21, 2020
Annotation:

A rich middle grade urban fantasy debut starring young psychic Maria de la Cruz, by the award-winning artist Gilbert Ford.

Eleven-year-old Maria de la Cruz is trapped under the thumb of Madame Destine, her pseudo-psychic mother. Destine is a bona fide con artist who will stop at nothing to swindle her customers into believing she can communicate with the dead. But Maria, unlike her mother, has a big secret—she really can communicate with the dead, most frequently with a ghost named Edward who has been her only friend since she was a child. It’s not long before this clairvoyant young sleuth gets wrapped up in an epic journey that combines bookish mystery with the literary movement of the Beat poets and art and jazz history. Maria may have the power to unlock extraordinary secrets, but can she find the treasure Edward sends her clues about? More importantly, can she find true friendship?

This smart, big-hearted debut novel with gorgeous illustrations throughout is perfect for fans of Book Scavenger, Winterhouse, and The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street.

Christy Ottaviano Books


Additional Information
BISAC Categories:
- Juvenile Fiction | Fantasy & Magic
- Juvenile Fiction | Mysteries, Espionage, & Detective Stories
- Juvenile Fiction | Social Themes - Friendship
Age Level: 9-12
Grade Level: 4-7
Physical Information: 256 pages
 
Customer ReviewsSubmit your own review
 
To tell a friend about this book, you must Sign In First!