Low Price Guarantee
We Take School POs
The Glass Castle: A Memoir
Contributor(s): Walls, Jeannette (Author)

View larger image

ISBN: 074324754X     ISBN-13: 9780743247542
Publisher: Scribner Book Company
Retail: $17.00OUR PRICE: $12.41  
  Buy 25 or more:OUR PRICE: $11.39   Save More!
  Buy 100 or more:OUR PRICE: $10.88   Save More!


  WE WILL NOT BE UNDERSOLD!   Click here for our guarantee

Binding Type: Paperback - See All Available Formats & Editions
Published: January 2006
Qty:

Annotation: In the tradition of Mary Karr's "The Liars' Club" and Rick Bragg's "All Over But the Shouting," Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric, and severely misguided family.
Additional Information
BISAC Categories:
- Biography & Autobiography | Editors, Journalists, Publishers
- Family & Relationships
Dewey: B
Lexile Measure: 1010(Not Available)
Physical Information: 0.6" H x 5.25" W x 8" (0.60 lbs) 288 pages
Themes:
- Chronological Period - 20th Century
- Topical - Family
- Sex & Gender - Feminine
Features: Ikids, Illustrated, Price on Product
Awards: Pennsylvania Young Reader's Choice Award, Nominee, Young Adult, 2010
ALA Notable Books, Winner, Nonfiction, 2006
Eliot Rosewater Indiana High School Book Award, Nominee, Grades 9-12, 2008
Green Mountain Book Award, Nominee, Grades 9-12, 2008
Review Citations: New York Times 02/26/2006 pg. 20
Entertainment Weekly 03/06/2015 pg. 72
Accelerated Reader Info
Quiz #: 105049
Reading Level: 5.9   Interest Level: Upper Grades   Point Value: 12.0
 
Descriptions, Reviews, Etc.
Publisher Description:
Jeannette Walls grew up with parents whose ideals and stubborn nonconformity were both their curse and their salvation. Rex and Rose Mary Walls had four children. In the beginning, they lived like nomads, moving among Southwest desert towns, camping in the mountains. Rex was a charismatic, brilliant man who, when sober, captured his children's imagination, teaching them physics, geology, and above all, how to embrace life fearlessly. Rose Mary, who painted and wrote and couldn't stand the responsibility of providing for her family, called herself an "excitement addict." Cooking a meal that would be consumed in fifteen minutes had no appeal when she could make a painting that might last forever.

Later, when the money ran out, or the romance of the wandering life faded, the Walls retreated to the dismal West Virginia mining town -- and the family -- Rex Walls had done everything he could to escape. He drank. He stole the grocery money and disappeared for days. As the dysfunction of the family escalated, Jeannette and her brother and sisters had to fend for themselves, supporting one another as they weathered their parents' betrayals and, finally, found the resources and will to leave home.

What is so astonishing about Jeannette Walls is not just that she had the guts and tenacity and intelligence to get out, but that she describes her parents with such deep affection and generosity. Hers is a story of triumph against all odds, but also a tender, moving tale of unconditional love in a family that despite its profound flaws gave her the fiery determination to carve out a successful life on her own terms.

For two decades, Jeannette Walls hidher roots. Now she tells her own story. A regular contributor to MSNBC.com, she lives in New York and Long Island and is married to the writer John Taylor.

TO INQUIRE ABOUT SCHEDULING JEANNETTE WALLS FOR SPEAKING ENGAGEMENTS PLEASE CONTACT:

Keppler Speakers

Dustin L. Jones

Associate, College & University Division

703.516.4000 (P)

703.516.4819 (F)


Contributor Bio(s): Walls, Jeannette: - Jeannette Walls graduated from Barnard College and was a journalist in New York. Her memoir, The Glass Castle, has been a New York Times bestseller for more than six years. She is also the author of the instant New York Times bestsellers The Silver Star and Half Broke Horses, which was named one of the ten best books of 2009 by the editors of The New York Times Book Review. Walls lives in rural Virginia with her husband, the writer John Taylor.
 
Customers who bought this item also bought...

The Hate U Give
The Kite Runner - 10 ANV Edition
The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian - Reprint Edition
Speak - Reprint Edition
A Thousand Splendid Suns - Reprint Edition
Into the Wild - 1 Edition
The Hunger Games
Catcher in the Rye
 
Customer ReviewsSubmit your own review
 
To tell a friend about this book, you must Sign In First!