Low Price Guarantee
We Take School POs
The Boys in the Boat (Young Readers Adaptation): The True Story of an American Team's Epic Journey to Win Gold at the 1936 Olympics
Contributor(s): Brown, Daniel James (Author)

View larger image

ISBN: 0147516854     ISBN-13: 9780147516855
Publisher: Puffin Books
Retail: $11.99OUR PRICE: $8.75  
  Buy 25 or more:OUR PRICE: $8.03   Save More!
  Buy 100 or more:OUR PRICE: $7.67   Save More!


  WE WILL NOT BE UNDERSOLD!   Click here for our low price guarantee

Binding Type: Paperback - See All Available Formats & Editions
Published: August 2016
Qty:
Additional Information
BISAC Categories:
- Juvenile Nonfiction | Sports & Recreation - Olympics
- Juvenile Nonfiction | Sports & Recreation - Water Sports
- Juvenile Nonfiction | History - United States - State & Local
Dewey: 797.123
LCCN: 2016302576
Age Level: 10-UP
Grade Level: 5-UP
Lexile Measure: 1000(Not Available)
Physical Information: 0.7" H x 6.9" W x 8.9" L (1.05 lbs) 256 pages
Themes:
- Chronological Period - 1930's
- Cultural Region - Germany
- Geographic Orientation - Washington
- Locality - Seattle-Bellevue-Everett, Wa
Features: Ikids, Illustrated, Index, Price on Product
Accelerated Reader Info
Quiz #: 176197
Reading Level: 6.9   Interest Level: Middle Grades   Point Value: 9.0
 
Descriptions, Reviews, Etc.
Publisher Description:
The #1 New York Times bestseller freshly adapted for the next generation, now with brand new content including an author Q&A and never-before-seen photographs

Inspiration for the PBS American Experience Documentary 'The Boys of '36'

For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Great Depression comes the astonishing tale of nine working-class boys from the American West who at the 1936 Olympics showed the world what true grit really meant. With rowers who were the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington's eight-oar crew was never expected to defeat the elite East Coast teams, yet they did, going on to shock the world by challenging the German boat rowing for Adolf Hitler.

At the center of the tale is Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, whose personal quest captures the spirit of his generation--the generation that would prove in the coming years that the Nazis could not prevail over American determination and optimism.

This deeply emotional yet easily accessible young readers adaptation of the award-winning #1 New York Times bestseller features never-before-seen photographs, highly visual back matter, and an exclusive new introduction.

 
Customers who bought this item also bought...

The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind - Reprint Edition
Code Talker: A Novel About the Navajo Marines of World War Two - Reprint Ed
Out of My Mind
Counting by 7s - Reprint Edition
A Long Walk to Water - Reprint Edition
Hidden Figures Young Readers' Edition: The Untold True Story of Four Africa
Brown Girl Dreaming - Reprint Edition
So B. It - Reprint Edition
 
Customer ReviewsSubmit your own review
 
To tell a friend about this book, you must Sign In First!