Low Price Guarantee
We Take School POs
P.S. Be Eleven
Contributor(s): Williams-Garcia, Rita (Author)

View larger image

ISBN: 0061938629     ISBN-13: 9780061938627
Publisher: Quill Tree Books
OUR PRICE: $14.44  

Binding Type: Hardcover - See All Available Formats & Editions
Published: May 2013
Qty:

Click for more in this series: Coretta Scott King Award - Author Winner Title(s)
Additional Information
BISAC Categories:
- Juvenile Fiction | Historical - United States - 20th Century
- Juvenile Fiction | People & Places - United States - African-american
- Juvenile Fiction | Family - Multigenerational
Dewey: FIC
LCCN: 2013021814
Age Level: 9-12
Grade Level: 4-7
Lexile Measure: 770(Not Available)
Series: Coretta Scott King Award - Author Winner Title(s)
Physical Information: 1" H x 6.07" W x 8.43" (0.80 lbs) 288 pages
Themes:
- Ethnic Orientation - African American
- Chronological Period - 1960's
- Locality - New York, N.Y.
- Geographic Orientation - New York
- Topical - Family
- Sex & Gender - Girl's Interest
- Demographic Orientation - Urban
Features: Ikids, Price on Product
Awards: Dorothy Canfield Fisher Children's Book Award, Nominee, Children's, 2015
Capitol Choices: Noteworthy Books for Children and Teens, Recommended, Ten to Fourteen, 2014
Review Citations: Booklist 02/15/2013 pg. 69
Kirkus Reviews 03/15/2013
Publishers Weekly 04/15/2013
Horn Book Magazine 05/01/2013 pg. 99
School Library Journal 06/01/2013 pg. 146
Shelf Awareness 05/31/2013
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 09/01/2013
Hornbook Guide to Children 07/01/2013 - Outstanding, Noteworthy In Style
PW Best Children's Books 11/11/2013 pg. 26
Kirkus Best Middle Grade Books 11/15/2013 pg. 85
SLJ's Best Books 12/01/2013 pg. 38
Booklist Ed Choice Youth 01/01/2014 pg. 15
BookPage 06/01/2013
Accelerated Reader Info
Quiz #: 158513
Reading Level: 4.6   Interest Level: Middle Grades   Point Value: 8.0
 
Descriptions, Reviews, Etc.
Publisher Description:

The Gaither sisters are at it again A sequel to the Newbery Honor Book One Crazy Summer, this Coretta Scott King Award-winning novel will find a home in the hearts of readers who loved Brown Girl Dreaming and As Brave as You.

After spending the summer in Oakland, California, with their mother and the Black Panthers, Delphine, Vonetta, and Fern arrive home with a newfound streak of independence. That doesn't sit well with Big Ma, who doesn't like the way things are changing.

Neither does Delphine. Pa has a new girlfriend. Uncle Darnell comes home from Vietnam, but he's not the same. And her new sixth-grade teacher isn't the fun, stylish Miss Honeywell--it's Mr. Mwila, a stern exchange teacher from Zambia.

But the one thing that doesn't change during this turbulent year is the advice that Delphine receives from her mother, who reminds her not to grow up too fast. To be eleven while she can.

Readers who enjoy Christopher Paul Curtis's The Watsons Go to Birmingham and Jacqueline Woodson's Brown Girl Dreaming will find much to love in this book. Rita Williams-Garcia's books about Delphine, Vonetta, and Fern can also be read alongside nonfiction explorations of American history such as Jason Reynolds's and Ibram X. Kendi's books.

Each humorous, unforgettable story in this trilogy follows the sisters as they grow up during one of the most tumultuous eras in recent American history, the 1960s. Read the adventures of eleven-year-old Delphine and her younger sisters, Vonetta and Fern, as they visit their kin all over the rapidly changing nation--and as they discover that the bonds of family, and their own strength, run deeper than they ever knew possible.

"The Gaither sisters are an irresistible trio. Williams-Garcia excels at conveying defining moments of American society from their point of view." --Publishers Weekly (starred review)


Contributor Bio(s): Williams-Garcia, Rita: -

Rita Williams-Garcia's Newbery Honor-winning novel, One Crazy Summer, was a winner of the Coretta Scott King Award, a National Book Award finalist, the recipient of the Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction, and a New York Times bestseller. The sequel, P.S. Be Eleven, was also a Coretta Scott King Award winner and an ALA Notable Children's Book for Middle Readers. She is also the author of six distinguished novels for young adults: Jumped, a National Book Award finalist; No Laughter Here, Every Time a Rainbow Dies (a Publishers Weekly Best Children's Book), and Fast Talk on a Slow Track (all ALA Best Books for Young Adults); Blue Tights; and Like Sisters on the Homefront, a Coretta Scott King Honor Book. Rita Williams-Garcia lives in Jamaica, New York, is on the faculty at the Vermont College of Fine Arts in the Writing for Children & Young Adults Program, and has two adult daughters, Stephanie and Michelle, and a son-in-law, Adam.


 
Customers who bought this item also bought...

One Crazy Summer - Reprint Edition
The One and Only Ivan - Reprint Edition
The Mighty Miss Malone - Reprint Edition
A Long Walk to Water - Reprint Edition
Sisters
Wonder - 1 Edition
Esperanza Rising
Hate That Cat - 1 Reprint Edition
 
Customer ReviewsSubmit your own review
 
To tell a friend about this book, you must Sign In First!